Web Design: My Magnificent Blog Post

14 May

Per my graphic design course at Mozilla School of Webcraft (yes I did choose this program partially for the Harry Potter reference) I must write a blog post about why I am getting into web design:

The biggest reason I am getting into web design is because of a little game that I played when I was younger on AOL dial-up called Neopets.

I have always been a computer nerd and gamer ever since my father brought home a computer back in 1997. At first I used the computer to play games and/or watch my brother play games such as: King, Heroes of Might and Magic, Doom, and Sims City.  I also would use the computer’s paint program and practice my art (I thought drawing on the computer was pretty magical).

Thanks to Neopets, I taught myself HTML at 10 years old.  I wanted to make “pages” for my pets (unfortunately they are no longer around, how fun would it be to see my very first websites!).  When I found a web design element that I liked and wanted to use and Neopets did not teach it (this was before Google), I would dissect the code myself to learn what made each website tick.  I even thought to myself when I was younger, “This would be really fun to do as a living when I grow up!”  However, my silly young brain told me that, “By the time I grow up, all the websites will be designed and it wouldn’t be a plausible career path for me.”  Now I see the error of my ways, and as they say, “Better late than never”.

Web design marries two of my passions – art and science (design and coding).  I am excited to embark on this journey and excited to see where it takes me.

– Cheek out

12 Responses to “Web Design: My Magnificent Blog Post”

  1. ansakoy May 14, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

    Hi Denise,
    Great blog you’ve got. And I hope you’ll be updating it. Good luck with your progress. And I hop I’ll learn something very helpful from you.

    • Denise Cheek June 1, 2013 at 4:11 pm #

      Thank you! I am doing my best to kick myself whenever I am bad about updating it, thank you for the motivation to keep going on it 🙂 I have been keeping an eye on your blog as well, keep up the good work!

      • Anna Sakoyan June 1, 2013 at 4:27 pm #

        Thanks Denise! Well, I’m trying to. Just have to finish one epic task and publish it at long last.
        By the way, now that you’ve told about this wonderful infographics idea, I can’t wait to see its development.

  2. Samantha May 14, 2013 at 8:30 pm #

    This is one of the reasons I’ve decided to pursue web design also – the combo of art and science.
    Looking forward to seeing what we can learn from this!!

    • Denise Cheek June 1, 2013 at 4:10 pm #

      Funny when the two sides of the brain decide to agree on something right? I like when they do that haha! I will be keeping an eye on your blog, let’s work hard together! >:D

  3. oskarpeterson May 20, 2013 at 10:53 am #

    Hi nice to meet you, just doing my introductionary leaving a comment, good luck with your programming> http://oskarpeterson.wordpress.com/2013/05/20/first-day-of-coding-camp/

    • Denise Cheek June 1, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      Thank you, good luck to you as well! I will check out your blog in the meantime 😀

  4. hamabeboi May 27, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

    Hi Denise, nice to make your acquaintance. It looks like you’ve got a head start on HTML compared to moi, I’ve only begun learning the language this past year, and am hoping this webmaking challenge is a start to a new adventure. Feel free to check out my blog–one post so far 😉 http://hamabeboi.wordpress.com/ Cheers!

    • Denise Cheek June 1, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Thank you! Nice to meet you as well, thanks for taking the time to check out my musings! I will keep an eye on your blog as well!

      • hamabeboi June 1, 2013 at 4:25 pm #

        You’re most welcome!

  5. Cale Bergh May 28, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Nice blog. You’ve come a long way already – great job! Consider looking at my first entry if you would: http://p2pu.acgdemo.com/

    • Denise Cheek June 1, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

      Thanks Cale! I enjoy this whole “peer environment” I am happy to check out your blog!

Leave a Reply

